Dam Busters

It has been a busy weekend with the Easter Bunny’s visit and the chocolate-induced hyperactivity that ensued. To get out some of the beans we decided to go for a walk/bike out the lane and down the road. Our neighbour had called the night before to ask if we could help with clearing some of the culverts which the local beavers have crammed full with all sorts of good stuff and as a result are threatening to flood our lane.

Here we go.

The girls watching their dad at work.
nice
Since my husband decided to wear my work jacket, I had no choice but to let him do all the heavy work while I made sure the girls didn’t fall in the drink and get sucked through the culverts. I also got a little snap-happy. This photo I call “Clump of Lump” (Ok, so I read a little Dr. Seuss this morning).

“Clump of Lump With Surrounding Environs”.

Self portrait.

Yet another dam.

Yet another culvert to clear.

Leading to the lake.

Look at the exploded cattail!

Watch it float!Ella looking at her cattail floating
Finally, I will end with some pics I took of beavers from a year or so ago. This little guy swam by in the rain.
I got quite close to this one and managed to snap this photo until it noticed me and…
…slapped it’s tail on the water both splashing me and scaring me half to death with the noise of the slap! I guess it is poetic justice for dismantling it’s masterpieces.



Leave a Reply

