Coyote bait

So back in October we had an “incident” which made me question living in the country. At moments I am still somewhat shaken by what happened many months later so I thought I would share my experience.

First of all, you should meet our little dog Daisy. We got her about 6 years ago from a family who didn’t want her anymore. She lived in a little house with a little yard which I don’t think she had ever been out of because when we got her, she was covered in her own feces and she didn’t even know she was able to run. We had to teach her how to play as well. Basically she was a depressed little dog with a lot of love in her which was unleashed by our little family and country life.Yup, she is a cutie – but then again I am a little biased 🙂

Daisy knows she is small and vulnerable when it comes to the numerous wild animals and birds who also share her surroundings, so she is pretty careful not to go far and keeps at our side when we are out walking. As you can imagine, we don’t put her out when it is dark and if she really is desperate, we let her out on the water side of the house and make noise first and turn on the flood lights for her to scare any critters away. This time was different though. It was 5 am and still very dark. My husband was getting ready for work and Daisy was doing the tap-dance and her eyeballs were floating so without a second thought, out she went. Moments later, her screams (like none heard before) let us know she was in serious trouble. My husband ran barefoot and in his underwear blindly into the brisk, black morning toward her cries and retrieved her relatively intact (the hubby was also intact in case you were wondering). As I am sure you can guess by the title, she had been attacked by a coyote!  Daisy was in shock and had punctures on both sides as well as in her chest which pulled the skin away from muscle and also tore muscle in her shoulders, but with the help of a neighbour vet/friend as well as some emergency care, IV, heavy painkillers, antibiotics and a hefty vet bill, she has made a full recovery. Mind you her pride is a little hurt since she now requires bodyguards when she is outside.

Here she is waiting to see the vet

Here are all the lovely meds she was on

She spent more than a week not wanting to leave her crate 😦

Note the punctures from the coyote’s teeth

Starting to feel better but chose other “safe” places to hang out  like in the girl’s dollhouse.

Back to normal and getting spoiled as usual and loving it!

Battle scars – such a toughie.

I grew up on a farm in the country and never had to many fears of nature but I suppose ignorance is bliss. Now that I am a mom and trying to be “responsible” I have developed concerns. My main fear when I moved here were the bears. We had a territorial one who, days after we moved in, climbed our 5 ft deck, put its rump against our door and left us a nice little parcel on our doorstep (but that is another story). Yes, bears were my biggest concern and coyotes were not really much of a thought. I have seen them frequently close to our house and take down deer on the lake so I  always knew we had to watch out for our dog, but when something actually happened, it shook me to the core. My first instinct was to find the coyote and shoot it. How could a creature that would do something so violent be allowed to be out there lurking with the potential to attack again? It was when I had to explain to my daughters why a coyote would do this that helped me put things into perspective. I told them the coyote has to eat and coyotes eat meat. The coyote doesn’t know Daisy is a loved pet, it just sees food and maybe it hasn’t eaten for many days and is very hungry. A coyote has to eat just like we do. Nature can sometimes be cruel but it is the natural balance that has to occur in order for life to exist. Actually, I have told them this many times when they see how cruel nature can be, whether it is a snapping turtle eating a gosling, a snake eating a frog, a pack of coyotes cornering a deer. As gruesome and cruel as it seems, it is just, well, natural.

I will end with this photo I took a couple of years ago. Whenever I think of that beast in the dark night that attacked Daisy, I try to think of this image. A beautiful creature who can miraculously thrive independently in the wild.

5 thoughts on “Coyote bait

  1. Pingback: A Fire a Coyote and Other Stuff | homeonalake

  2. Pingback: Some pics of coyotes that hopefully will not attack my dog | homeonalake

  3. First let me say that Daisy is unbelievably cute, and I’m so sorry that she underwent such a traumatic experience.

    Years ago when I was visiting my dad in hilly, rural Pennsylvania, my dad, my husband and I were walking our dog (pictured here) in a meadow near a woods. Since we were on my dad’s property, our dog was off leash. She was having a wonderful time. She was relatively small (about 20 pounds) and what she was doing was running and leaping repeatedly over the grass of the meadow. It was like watching a dolphin jump over the waves. Anyway she had gotten quite a ways in front of us when we saw a coyote midway up an adjoining hill. It spied our dog and made a beeline straight at her at top speed. However as the coyote advanced, we came into its view. As soon as the coyote saw us, it put on the brakes and turned tail. I had no doubt the coyote would have killed our dog if we weren’t with her.

    My dad told me that besides killing to eat, coyotes will kill other canines in their territory whom they regard as competition. So where my dad lived, coyotes kill as many foxes in the vicinity as possible, not so much to eat them, but so the foxes and coyotes wouldn’t be competing for the same game (like rabbits, squirrels, etc.),

    • Wow, that is very interesting! I did see a stand-off once between two coyotes. I thought they were from the same pack but when they saw each other, they looked like they were going to battle with their hair raised and snarling until they got passed each other and went their separate ways. Thanks for sharing. I am glad to hear your dog is safe too. I enjoy your blog as well.

Leave a Reply

