Lilacs

There is something about lilacs that fills me with happiness. Perhaps it is because the scent of them brings me back to my childhood where I had a lilac bush outside my window.  I recall bedtime in the spring when the sweet scent would fill my room and make sleep a pleasure – a rare thing at a young age when bedtime is never a favourite time of one’s day.

It has been a beautiful year here for lilacs and unfortunately, they have come to an end until next spring. Here are some pics from the last couple of weeks.June7_2013_1 June7_2013_2 June7_2013_4
Lilac bush out laundry room window (makes doing laundry a little more enjoyable)June7_2013_5 June7_2013_6
June7_2013_10

5 thoughts on “Lilacs

  1. Haven’t been by in much too long. I love lilacs, too, and we have three large bushes, one each of white, lilac, and dark purple. They didn’t last too long this year (rain has a lot to do with that), but they were beautiful while they lasted. Our poppies are also gone but were spectacular for a time. Now we’re into roses. 🙂

    Hope all’s well,

    janet

    • Great to hear from you! I love poppies and roses. I haven’t had much luck with keeping either alive unfortunately :/ So glad you stopped by again. Thanks for the comments!

Leave a Reply

