Best Cookie Recipe for Baking With Young Kids

I have been making this recipe since my kids were toddlers because it is about the simplest cookie recipe possible and it has some fun “hands-on” steps the kids love. Oh yeah, AND the cookies are delicious!

Image

Thumbprint Jelly Cookies

1 Egg yolk
1/2 Cup white sugar
2 Cups flour (I used half white and half whole wheat)
1 Cup butter melted
jelly or jam

1) Preheat oven to 350F (177C).
2) Mix all ingredients except jelly and form into a big ball.
3) Break off small, meatball-sized pieces.
4) Have child roll piece into ball, then flatten ball with palm of hand.
5) Ask child to show you his/her thumb by sticking it into the air, then push thumb into centre of each cookie.
6) Fill each thumbprint with jelly or have child do this depending on how old he/she is.
7) Bake for about 10-15 minutes. That’s it, have fun!

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

“Ok Daisy, lets do a puzzle while the cookies bake.”

20 thoughts on “Best Cookie Recipe for Baking With Young Kids

  1. Pingback: Feeding birds and baking with kids - handmade school holidays -

  2. Pingback: Feeding birds and baking with kids – handmade school holidays – PepperPot

  3. I tried this but it didn’t turn out the way it should,not even close, it was so dry it wouldn’t even stick together. It’s definitely missing something šŸ™

  4. I am from Costa Rica, Central America and I just try this recipe with my siblings and they were pleased and we had a lot of fun, thank you so much for post it!!

    • How wonderful to hear! I am glad you had fun with the recipe.

      Many friends of mine have been to Costa Rica and loved it. It sounds so beautiful there.

      Thank you so much for letting me know how the recipe went. It makes me so happy to share when I receive feedback like yours šŸ™‚

Leave a comment